Lolly had made some questions about socks.
  • When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?
Like many other Finnish girls I made my first socks in school (about twenty years ago). They were not huge success because they were too big to wear and colour  was horrible. After that I made some socks but I didn't like knitting them until this summer. I started to knit again and found many beautiful patterns for socks. I joined SixSox-knitalong and started my first toe-up sock.

  • What was your first pair?  How have they "held up" over time?
I don't have picture abot my first socks (and maybe it is better that way) but here are first ones in 2006
172583.jpg
 When I finshed them I was very satisfied, they are little bit too loose.

  • What would you have done differently?
I would knit them with smaller needles and made them little bit smaller.

  • What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?
I really enjoy knitting fingering weight sock yarns, in Finland sock yarn is quite often sport weight  and I think it is not for me.
  • Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?
I knit my socks with five DPNs, I haven't tried any other way.
  • Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)
I like heels with flap but I can do short-row if it fits better.
  • How many pairs have you made?
After July 2006 I have made 12 pairs of socks  and I have two pairs on my needles right now. Most socks are adult sized.